Abraham, babies, and knives….

Abraham lived about 300 years after God created all of the languages.  Abraham lived in a town called Ur until the time that God said “Abraham, look up at the stars. I am going to give you as many children as there are stars, but first I want you to start living in tents.”   Abe packed up everything he owned and headed off into the desert.  Abraham was an old man with an old wife named Sarah.  Sarah couldn’t have babies so Abraham decided to have one with Sarah’s maid Hagar the housekeeper.  I know it sounds strange, but that’s what God told him to do.  Where do babies come from? Umm, after we are done with this story you can go ask Mommy.  At any rate, soon Hagar had a boy.  Everything was great until God told Sarah to have Hagar the housekeeper take the baby and head off into the desert alone.  No I don’t know what happened to them, but I am sure it was something happy.

Abraham shows his love for God

Abraham shows his love for God

Abraham was pretty bummed about this. Here he was with a 90 year old wife stuck in the desert with no kids. Sarah prayed for a child and soon God made Sarah pregnant even though she was 90. Can you imagine Great Grandma having a baby? The baby boy’s name was Isaac.  One day God again spoke to Abraham. He told him “If you love me, go up to the mountain and tie up Isaac and kill him with a knife.” Abraham took his son up on the mountain and just as he was going to kill his son, God said “Stop! I was just kidding, kill that goat instead”.   That is probably why Isaac had trust issues with his dad.  What’s that?  Would I ever kill you if God told me to? No sweetheart of course not.  God doesn’t talk to Daddy like he did to Abraham.

One thought on “Abraham, babies, and knives….

Leave a comment